gretchensjourney

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Go Gretchen, Go Gretchen….

on May 20, 2012

Sunday, May 20, 2012


I finally was able to push through my mental block this weekend! I’ve been struggling with getting past running more than 3 minutes at a time. Not because  my body is giving out. although I am pushing through some pain too, but it’s my brain. My mind keeps telling me I can’t do it, and I need to stop. So I’ve talked to some friends to get some advice. So I tried it ALL yesterday…and it worked. I just kept saying I can do it, I can do it, etc. Then I envisioned myself doing the cabbage patch saying Go Gretchen, Go Gretchen! Then I envisioned someone in front of me that I was trying to pass. Then I envisioned someone behind me that I wasn’t going to let pass me. It took a lot, but I did it! I was able to run for about 10 mins straight before I stopped.. IT FELT GREAT TO PUSH THROUGH THAT!!! Since I was the only one at the gym at the time, I threw my arms up in the air in victory as I just won the race! Then I even clapped for myself! It was awesome! Can’t wait to get to my next run this week and try it again!
Just keep running..just keep running…just keep running! 🙂

Leave a comment